1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Palatino VE-500 setup for Pros. Yes that's right this bass can make a pro happy

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Horganstein, Mar 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Horganstein

Horganstein Inactive

Feb 24, 2016
    After all the mumbo jumbo going on in here about the Palatino EUB not being an instrument that Pros even bother looking at and rather pay 3, 4, $5000 for something which is said to sound amazingly similar a real double basse but in reality is far from doing so.
    I've been playing double bass in jazz situations for 30 years and have an amazing old acoustic double bass with an incredible sound. Being I travel a fair amount abroad I got tired of dealing with the nightmares most travelling double bassists have encountered throughout their travels. So, not believing for a minute that paying crazy amounts of money for an EUB, I decided to buy a cheap one (Palatino ve-500) and see for myself whether something good could be done with this instrument, being everyone had nothing but bad things to say about them. Now I know from experience that you can fall on bad ones and great ones just like going out and trying out a bass in a shop and out of the 10 that you try, they all sound different and if you know something about them then you know a good one from a bad one which do exist even in cheaper instruments and is the same for even expensive ones. But you have to also be able to distinguish between good and bad. These Palatino basses are cheaply made but do have some good things about them and so, once you've discovered what is bad about them, you throw them out and replace the parts with better quality ones which is what I did and still kept me in the half the price range of any of those fancy EUBs that claim to sound great.