1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Parallel-Loop or Series-Loop or In-front?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by sucho2000, Apr 12, 2010.

1. sucho2000

sucho2000

Nov 19, 2009
    Hi,

I guess this is my first ever post in the talkbass.com
    I am Sucho and love reading tonnes of info from TB
    This is a Great community...

Now...
    I am pretty new to amplifiers...

I have got a Markbass Amp,
    and getting a Sadowsky Stomp Preamp/DI on its way..

How is it different to connect this to:

1) Parallel-FX Loop

2) Series-FX Loop

3) In-front (Between my bass and amp head)

In case of parallel loop, does it mix the two signals and blend?
    (One with pre-amped by Sadowsky and One without)

and

which of above three are you doing or would you do? and Reasons?

Thanks in advance

cheers

sucho

2. Implosion

Implosion

Oct 19, 2007
    Finland
    Parallel fx-loop blends the signals to a chosen level. Some amps like my Tech 21 has the option where you press a button to select 50/50 mix of original and whatever is coming through the effect loop return. Otherwise it's a series loop. On some amps this can also be done with a blend pot that controls the ratio of wet/dry (uneffected/effected) signal.

The difference between series fx-loop and in-front is basically the order in which the signal is processed. Do you want the Markbass to shape your Sadowsky signal or the Sadowsky to shape your Markbass signal?

You should also remember that devices that are for line level signals usually work better in fx-loops and devices that are for instrument level signals usually work better between bass and the amp. But be sure to experiment all the options.

4) Bypass the Markbass preamp by plugging your Sadwosky to the effect return of the Markbass (Bass -> Sadowsky -> Markbass fx-return). My reason is that I like to have only one preamp in my chain.