Paris and London?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by thetaxmiser, May 13, 2004.

1. thetaxmiser

thetaxmiser Supporting Member

Feb 23, 2002
    Sonoma County, CA, USA
    All of France and nearby places, really.

I have the fine luck of being able to stay in a Paris apartment for free from 6/13 to 6/30. My wife, 2 kids (15 and 10), and myself are the complete newbies to Europe having never ventured outside the US borders. We have scheduled a couple of days in Bayeux but nothing beyond that. I believe we are staying in the 3rd or 4th district (near the opera house). Any tips from the locals?

We considered a couple of nights in London but the train + motel seems pricey. Travel agents want us to spend large dollars (or euros) to be trapped on the bus at the hands of a merciless tour guide, the guide books have too much info...I'm looking to the bass community for commen sense advice.

2. my wife spent a lot of time in paris, i'll have her give you some tips when she has a chance.

my tip: have fun, you're freaking lucky.
  3. Against Will

Against Will Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Big Sound Central
    If you're thinking of going to any museums, get there Early, lines get really long.

There are a bunch of American jazz musicians that live and perform in France. One my friends who lives in France got to speak and interview David Murray for one of her classes. It's an excellent oppurtunity to go see some great musicians.

There are not a lot of supermarkets in France, just be aware. Have fun roaming through the markets and various shops, it's half the joy of being there.

Kind of pedestrian stuff. But, yes, you are frickin' lucky.
  4. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    I got to spend 3 days in Paris a few years ago on a gig, and my thoughts as I got on the plane home were "Damn, I don't want to leave, this was FUN!"

Enjoy yourself.
  5. Bob Lee (QSC)