1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Part time session bassist for a newcomer to the US.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by John Hikaru Koh, Aug 5, 2017.

1. Ladies and gents,

Just a quick disclaimer, I am new to Talkbass and this is my first thread, so I apologise in advance if I might be posting this thread in the wrong section, asking a stupid question, etc.

Just a brief background about myself... I'll be moving to the US next month (from Singapore) to further my studies at the Berklee College of Music in Boston, MA upon the completion of my two-year long mandatory national conscription. I primarily play the upright and can fiddle around with the electric but not to the extent as to accepting gigs on it. I also do have a classical background (so I can sightread, to a certain level) but my primary focus is now on jazz.

Question:
    I've been seriously considering taking up a part time job as a session bassist, intending to save up that money for grad school tuition. To those out there who are familiar with the session scene in the US, I'm curious about this whole idea of sessioning. Am I right to say that I must be able to sightread perfectly on the spot on both upright and electric bass? What are the rates like? Is it worth sparing a whole chunk of my practice time on practicing the essentials of a good session bassist? (practising my sight reading, working on both electric and upright, etc.) etc. Please advise!

Regards,

John Koh

2. JohnDavisNYC

JohnDavisNYC

Jan 11, 2008
    Brooklyn, NY
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar, D'Addario
    If you are talking about studio session work, you are about 30 years late. The session scene is no more.

You might pick up a session here and there, but there simply isn't that aspect of the industry anymore.

John