1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Pass It On (Worship Bassist gets an unexpected Blessing)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thebasssponge, Oct 2, 2009.

1. some background is needed.........

its been 6 months since I was saved and became a Christian and 4 months since I started playing and joined a friend in a Worship Band - we have been playing at a Men's Bible study that we attend weekly. Last night after we got through playing, Harry (an older gentleman that attends every week) approached me as I was putting my Bass away and said "You are doing a fine job young man, I've been watching you and what you are doing w/ your fingers and you have progressed nicely" I said thanks Harry. He said " you know I used to play bass and I want you stop by my house sometime, I have a bass I want you have" I was absolutely floored and not sure what to say but OK. He forgot what kind it was and after getting his address we parted ways and headed home.

well you can now guess what was going through my mind .... what it is it ???? I tried to forget about it as much as possible today as to not get my hopes up to high and concentrate more on what God has done for me. When I arrived at his house, we chatted and then he pulled it out........

Peavey Axcelerator 5 String
    Peavey Hard Case
    New set of Ernie Ball Slinky Strings
    Peavey Minx 110 Amp

Sorry for the dust, excited to share - clean later ;)
    IMG_1536Medium.
    IMG_1544Medium.
    IMG_1540Medium.
    IMG_1542Medium.
    IMG_1535Medium.
    IMG_1543Medium.

Bass is in fantastic shape finish wise
    one string missing, needs action lowered and neck may have some slight curvature to it
    But nothing that cannot be fixed
    Amp works like a charm and sounds great