Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Passive, active, misguided?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by katzscratch, Jan 13, 2006.

1. katzscratch

katzscratch

Dec 19, 2005
    I am new to bass playing as I am also new to the forum. After reading many threads on this forum and based on budget I decided to go with one of the the Yamaha BB series 4 strings. Went down to the local Sam Ash. The problem was I didnt know which to get... the passive 414 or the active614. I started thinking I might get the passive being a new bass player and not wanting to be overwhelmed with all the electronics. They both felt great but not being experienced enough to know the difference, I put my trust in the salesman (who was NOT a bass player). The 614 sounded awsome, a lot of power. Then he played the passive 414 and it was much quieter and weaker in comparison. I didnt notice him changing any settings on the amp and he said he had the volume and tone all the way up. He said I would want the active if the music we played was loud (which it is) so I could cut through the drummer and for just $50.00 more "I couldn't lose". So I bought it. Then I started second guessing my choice. Why would so many bass players, especially in heavy bands, have passive basses if they couldn't "cut through"? I also just recently noticed that someone on the forum here said that the 414 was more "ballsy". So my question is ...was I hustled for an extra $50.00? Can a passive still have the cutting action I need to be heard? Am I sacrificing that warm heavy tone for volume? The music we play is deep and heavy .. kind of "stoner rockish" for lack of a better word .... a mix of Cream, Sabbath, and ZZ top ...if that helps. Please forgive the lengthy post. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

2. nysbob

nysbob

Sep 14, 2003
    Cincinnati OH