1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Passive/Active/Preamp Questions

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Nugun, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Nugun

Nugun

Dec 31, 2011
    Mesquite, TX
    Hey all, before I start I already tried the search function and could only find a headache since there wasn't much covering the questions I had.

I just recently registered here (first post actually :hyper:) even though I've been lurking for awhile. Anyway, I am a senior about to graduate soon and as the first to graduate high school on my fathers side I decided to undergo a custom Warmoth build as a graduation gift to myself ;). Since I have a lot of capital left over from saving up for college (Army ROTC scholarship ftw! :D) I have decided to spare no expenses as this will probably be the only bass I get for a long while.

Now that that is out of the way, my big issue here is electronics. I am really wanting to go with passive pickups and an active preamp, but I really don't know where to begin to be honest. I want to be able to shift between active and passive with the flip of a switch seeing as I am not ready to make the commitment to immutable active electronics on a bass. I'm also trying to avoid the onboard eq as to not overwhelm myself with knobs and switches and the like.

My question is would this be doable with passive pickups and an active preamp? How would I go about doing this and what kind of circuitry and electronics would I need to do this? Would there be enough room in a front routed body or would I have to go rear routed? How many control slots would I need to have routed on the front of the body if I'm routing for a side mounted jack? Any help or advice is very much appreciated and welcome.