1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Passive input, active input, or both?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JWW88, Jan 20, 2012.

1. JWW88

JWW88

Jan 20, 2012
    I apologize in advance as I am a newbie (to bass) and expect this is a dumb question.

I bought a bass for recording, a Peavey T40, a couple weeks ago. My 13 year old son asked if he could use it to try out for jazz band at school. I said absolutely, but you'll need an amp...;)

So I picked up an Acoustic 260 Mini-stack (really cool!).

After his first practice he mentioned that he let a buddy plug in as he did not have an amp yet. His buddy has a Squire P-Bass. So they had one bass plugged into the active and one plugged into the passive input.

My questions are, could this damage the amp/cab?
    Does it hurt to plug an active bass into the passive or vice versa?

Thanks in advance!

2. No. The active is just a -15db gain cut for active basses that have a very high output. Though I'm not sure if both jacks being used at once could damage the amp.

3. JWW88

JWW88

Jan 20, 2012
    thanks duke,
    anybody know about plugging into both at the same time? I hate to tell my son not to let his friend plug in if it dosn't hurt anything.

4. You can plug into both at the same time - I've even seen one instance where someone used the Passive as an OUT for another amp while running an Active bass into the padded (Active) input.

No harm - no foul although if that was a Passive Bass in the Active hole, it lost some volume with the padded input cutting it down to keep the preamp from being overloaded.

But then again, some people like the clipped sound (distortion) of putting an Active bass into a Passive input.

5. RFord04

RFord04

Apr 8, 2009
    Flint, Michigan