Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Passive pups, active electronics

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by geggy spoiger, Nov 6, 2004.

1. Hi!
    I'm a little confused by the combination of passive pickups with active electronics. What is the purpose? I get passive...i get active, but what kind of sound is obtained when putting the two together. Is it a little bit of vintage (passive) with some modern zing(active)?? Also, would you plug one a bass with this package in a padded or unpadded input for optimum results?? Specifically, i'm speaking of the electronics package in the Warwick jazzman's.
    Thanks in advance!

2. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    I'm no electronics expert, but essentially the active pickups give you a "hotter" signal. Active pickups usually are not as transparent sounding as passive pickups- they put more "color" in the tone. Because tehy are active, they require batteries as well- I have never seen active pickups without a pre-amp, but I don't know if it is possible to have active pickups with no preamp. It seems like you could do it, but that would be somewhat self-defeating. Passive pickups on the other hand can be used with or without a preamp. The preamp boots the signal in most cases, ads tonal shaping. Many bassplayers prefer passive pickups with an active preamp so that the natural tone of the bass comes through the pickups, but it can either be shaped by the preamp, or left alone for a natural passive tone. My custom has an active bypass switch on it- it allows me to turn off the the preamp and just use teh passive pickups. It is not as loud or "hot" this way, but the tone sounds more natural and woody.
    I hope this explains a bit!

3. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY