1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Passive vs Active Eletronics/Pups into Tech21 DI pedal

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pgribs, Feb 2, 2021.

1. pgribs

pgribs

Feb 2, 2021
    Ottawa, ON
    Greetings everyone

I am a hobbyist bass player. I lost my last bass (ex roommate jacked it, long sob story). I am looking to get a new 5er. I am left handed and looking for something specific, that means my options are limited and I am looking to make an informed decision.

I have a Tech21 Sansamp DI/Pedal ran into a small Peavey practice amp. The Tech21 has 3 settings I programmed (Hard Rock/Metal, "Lemmy" and RnB).

My last bass that is gone, a Yamaha beginner 5er, was passive. However, many of the basses that have caught my eye have active electronics. I have never even played an active bass before let alone owned one. I am aware of the differences between the two, one of them that I know is that active generally produces a hotter signal than passive.

Is it possible that an active signal when ran through the Sansamp will oversaturate the sound and make the bass sound like junk in the end? Or possibly make it sound like a fuzzy mess since the overdrive is too much? Is passive typically a better option when paired with a Tech21? I really like the Tech21.

I really like the sounds of a P or J bass but many of the active LTD/Schecter models I've seen on YT sound great as well. My understanding is active is a good option for 5 strings as it is supposed to make the B string sound more clear.

I am interested in hearing what you all have to say. Thanks in advance for the feedback. Since I'm not a studio guy or pro, I would appreciate it if it was dumbed down as much as possible. :)

2. Crater

Crater

Oct 12, 2011
    Dallas, TX area