Patch cable audio quality testing?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Engle, Jan 21, 2018.

1. I’m going to be using octave and chorus pedals for a gig next weekend, so I set up the entire chain with my tuner last night. While playing, I realized I was getting substantial tone suck. Careful troubleshooting (I’m an electronics tech and structured cabling designer) narrowed it down to my short patch cords. 3 out of 4 noticeably attenuate higher frequencies when tested directly between bass and amp.

These cables all pass a continuity test and I can’t see any resistance with a meter at its lowest settings. I suspect they must have been crushed at some point. Most surprising is a Digiflex cable with Neutrik ends.

Does anyone know of a practical way to test for quality besides comparing them by listening?

2. Alien8

Alien8

Jan 29, 2014
    Capacitance is what causes "tone suck", high frequency attenuation in cables.

Poor buffers also cause sterile sound that could also be tone suck.

And one last issue could be an impedance mismatch between boxes.

If you have short cable runs between a few boxes it would be pretty hard to hear the tone difference. If you had 10 pedals in a row, with true bypass or poor buffers, it would be more obvious but still subtle. Using long cable runs is when you notice the issue. Try a couple short cables between boxes, it's worth the investment.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2018
  3. bongomania

bongomania Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    There really isn't a good way. I have done a lot of cable testing, and it takes multiple different tools and retests.