Pau ferro, rosewood and a small question about fender

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wtf_is_a_bass, Feb 4, 2006.

1. wtf_is_a_bass

wtf_is_a_bass Guest

Aug 11, 2005
    Sydney, Australia
    Endorsing Artist: PiGLET picks
    I was flicking through a fender catalogue and i started reading the MIM basses page. And i noticed the Jazz 4 string has a rosewood fingerboard and the jazz 5 string has a pau ferro. As i flicked some more, i noticed no 5 string came with a rosewood and vice versa. Why is this? Because im a total noob when it comes to 5 strings

And one little question... what puts the "upgrade" in the 2006 MIM P bass upgraded? What is the difference from last years model other than colour choice?
  2. kovachian

Nov 5, 2005
    This won't be of any help really, but pau ferro is rosewood, albeit a different species. It's real name is bolivian rosewood. I'm not into Fenders just thought I'd throw that out there.
  3. The new 2006 Fender are exactly the same, just other colours, and a free standard gig-bag comes whit the bass. I also saw on the MIM Jazz 5 that there is not just one string guide as before, there are now 2 stringtrees...
  4. momo

Oct 22, 2005
    Huntington Beach, CA
    I don't know about all of the dif's, but I know that pao ferro makes a sweet fretless board. I A/B'd it with some other rosewoods, and it is quite sweet for that. I can't imagine the fretted sound would be that much different though.
  5. I think the upgrade is that there are new colours, a gig bag, and American knobs, which is pretty silly.
  6. klocwerk

May 19, 2005
    Somerville, MA
    Pau Ferro is a little stiffer than rosewood, but softer than ebony. As for the 4/5 difference, I think they're just trying to make the 5er a little more exotic. :D
  7. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.