Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Paul McCartney's bass playing

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Alex E, Mar 10, 2006.

1. Alex E

Alex E

Mar 2, 2006
    Macca’s playing astounds me. It’s not fast like a Victor Wooten, Stanley Clarke, Jaco, etc.. If one asked him, I think McCartney himself would downplay his chops compared to the above greats and others, so I’m not saying he’s the best out there.

However, I have been playing bass for 25 years and listening to certain Macca songs still blows me away. Playing bass is not all about speed and chops. It sure is nice to have them, but what impresses me more is the ability to think up counterpoint bass lines that are highly melodic and instantly recognizable when you hear the song. The kind of bass line where the song just wouldn’t be the same without.

In that stuff, I think McCartney’s work is inspired, maybe even genius. Here’s a guy who can’t read music, doesn’t know hardly anything about theory and admittedly hated to practice, especially practicing bass.

I’ve had years of music theory and when I learn one of his bass parts spot-on, the creativity and complexity of some of the more involved ones, from a music theory standpoint, always astounds me. Chew on the bass line from “Something” where he’s doing those runs in the context of the chords and the solo. How in the world did a music theory “dummy” come up with that idea? Look at his bass work underneath all those 7th chords the Beatles used and again: How did a guy who doesn’t know squat about theory come up with that? I don’t think Sir Paul’s the best, but I’m still amazed by his innate ability. He’s a great, great player in my book.

2. yeah..."I want you (she's so heavy)" has gotta be THE best Beatles bassline...

3. ryco

ryco

Apr 24, 2005