1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pawn Shop Mustang or Geddy Lee?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dragonaut413, Oct 5, 2013.

1. Dragonaut413

Dragonaut413

Mar 1, 2013
    Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to playing bass (a year and a half or so) and am looking to play mostly heavy psychedelic rock. I've had a couple of cheap Epiphones and have not been pleased with them. I'm looking to get a new bass soon. I was thinking of the Pawn shop Mustang because it's a short scale and I have pretty small hands. The Geddy Lee one looks nice too though with the slimmer neck and seems to get good reviews. Not sure which one I should get so I figured I would ask you guys. Also if anyone has either of these basses for sale please let me know.. Thanks-Joe

2. Nev375

Nev375

Nov 2, 2010
    Missouri
    Apples are nice, but I prefer oranges, myself.... along with Geddy Lee jazz basses.

3. topo morto

topo morto

Mar 22, 2010
    Lloegyr
    Do you have a chance to try before you buy?

What epiphones did you have? What didn't you like?

If you have smaller hands I would certainly recommend considering a short scale. However, to some ears they can sound weaker than long scale basses, so it's worth checking you're happy with the sound.

If playing heavy psych rock - I hope you're going to get some effects too!

4. Miskatonic

Miskatonic

Sep 15, 2009
    Portland, OR
    Don't underestimate your hands. Muscles will learn how to fret on a regular scale bass. I have smaller hands, can do a full four fret stretch in 1st position, which would not be considered proper technique, but whatever. I don't think you need to base your decision on what bass to get just because you have smaller hands.