1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Paypal questions (moderators, move if appropriate)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Bob C, Jul 9, 2014.

1. Bob C

Bob C

Mar 26, 2000
    Duluth, MN
    I've bought things on eBay using Paypal. Never had a problem. Now I've listed some bass gear for sale on craigslist. I got a response from someone out of state who asked if I take Paypal.

I'm new at this. I know the buyer has more to lose, in terms of sending out money and not receiving the goods. But is there a danger that my bank account could be hacked? Other than getting the potential buyer's phone number and shipping to a confirmed address, are there any obvious questions I should ask him?

I know Paypal is built around safety and security. But there are always exceptions, right?

2. paypal is always more friendly to the buyer than the seller.
    if they don't like the product, they can open a case with Paypal, and Paypal will take back the money until the case is "resolved" which could be never.
    Don't do it.
    Craigslist ? Cash only.

nixdad likes this.
  3. Bob C

Bob C

Mar 26, 2000
    Duluth, MN
    How long does Paypal hold the funds?

4. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

The guy might be legit, if you do go through with make it very clear with wording and pictures as to what you are selling him. Also ensure to use nothing but tracked shipping (with signature), only to his confirmed address. If the funds are held for some reason, it can happen with paypal, do not ship anything until the funds are clear. No exceptions.

I don't see how it is any different than TB classifieds except for on CL you will have no recourse of tracking the guy down.

5. N.F.A.

N.F.A.

Jun 25, 2009
    In a blue funk