Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

PC on kinda blue

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by john turner, May 3, 2001.

1. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    i'm listening to kinda blue right now, and PC is out of tune all over the place. i know i should be saying "so what" ;) since the music is excellent, really beautiful, and the foibles that i hear don't interfere with my enjoyment of the music. still, though, out is out, and it makes me wonder...

the only reason that i bring it up is that i've heard DB'ers who _idolize_ PC, and i wonder if i'm missing something. i don't mean to be milking any sacred cows here, just something i noticed and got me to wondering.

remember i'm just a toy bassist :D so i probably just don't get it. anybody who could help me out, i'd appreciate it. besides, i'd like to get y'all's opinion on importance of intonation.

2. JT
    I took some grief on another thread for comments on PC's intonation; I don't find it quite as egregious as you, though. But his time !!!!! Funky.

3. I've never noticed big intonation problems. To hear PC, buy _Whims of Chambers_ and give a couple listens to "The Tale of the Fingers".

4. john turner

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    ok, i'll do that. i'd like to hear more of him, since he's recognized by so many as such a giant. i feel i need to get more influenced by more DB players anyway - so much of BG is cross-pollenated and inbred, influence-wise, a lot of even the better BG players are beginning to sound like some extended backwoods bumpkin family, if you catch my meaning - beginning to have all the same traits to various exaggerated degrees.