Peavey 5 string BXP Cirrus

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fiver, Jul 7, 2008.

1. Fiver

Fiver

Jul 7, 2008
    Well, I'm pretty new to bass, I just started a few months ago and the only instrument I had to practice on was a Fender jazz fretless, which was a wonderful bass. Anyways, I came home a few days ago and today I went to guitar center to buy a bass. I've had my eye on Peavey basses for awhile since they're pretty good looking and a big majority of the reviews for it were good. I went to the store, saw a peavey bxp cirrus, and played it. I really liked the sound and decided to buy it after some 10 minutes. I was so happy to have my own bass I made my brother drive home so I could sit in the back and play :smug:

Anyways, once I got home I took a break, but when I started playing again I noticed that tehre was a really strong fret buzz:crying:, mostly on the first 4 frets. I did some reasearch online adn read that the stock strings were considered poor so I went out and bought some new strings. After replacing the B string, the buzz was still there :mad: so I didn't bother to restring the other strings. I'm considering going back to trade the bass for one that has a better sound, but dunno, I'm embarrassed to take it back :p Ideas about getting rid of the buzz? or should I just take it back to Guitar Center and get something else in the same price range ($400-500); and any recomendations about what to get? I really like to play old incubus, so something that can slap would be nice :)

Thanks for help:bassist:

2. christle

christle

Jan 26, 2002
    Canada
    It just needs a good setup from the sounds of it. Pay the extra few dollars and get it professionally setup and then you will truly have a winner of a bass on your hands :)

3. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville