Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Peavey Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by s_boy, Mar 23, 2002.

1. s_boy

s_boy

Mar 16, 2002
    gloucester, nc
    hey all, first post on this forum. i heard about this group over on the harmony central bass forum. seems like a nice place to hang!

i am fairly new to bass playing but i've played guitar for appx 30 yrs and know what good bass tone sounds like. i am finding the transition pretty interesting, with more to learn that i thought at first.

i have had the opportunity to play a lot of fine bass amps, but my budget only afforded me a Peavey (TNT 115/ 200w @ 4ohm). my plan was to buy this and upgrade later... however, i am finding that this amp gets better the more i learn its capabilities. and playing side by side with supposedly better amps... i am beginning to wonder why bassist spend so much money for such marginal gain in tone on the high end bass amps out there? at this point i am looking to set the TNT on top of a 2x10 Peavey Cab to get a bit more definition over all. if i can gain that aspect... i am pretty sure that this amp will kick booty with the best for a long time.

is there any merit to what i am saying.... or am i tone deaf on the low side? :D :D :D

2. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    I had a TNT a long time ago, used with a Music Man StingRay and a Fender Telecaster Bass. Sounded cool, given that it is a low-priced solid state amp.

Seems to me that the TNT is among the best combos in its category, but it's a matter of taste though.

All I can say however, is that my TNT was very solid. I hope they're still now.

All the best,