Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Peavey Cab Options?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Dan Loader, May 6, 2003.

1. I've been playing bass for about 3 years now, plus 4 years previous playing classical, just using a small KLA20 Kustom practice amp. I've been playing at Musicity studios in London on a Crate 350watt recently, and since our band will be doing some larger gigs soon, I thought I needed something much larger.
    I looked first at the TNT115 for £430, which I had my heart set on getting, until I noticed the Combo 115. It was only £70 (100 bucks) more than the TNT and was practically twice the power with a cab.
    Most review sites, and some posts here have indicated that without a cab, I probably shouldn't be gigging with it. Problem is, I can't decide on which cab I should save up for, the 210TVX, or the 115s? Whatever I get needs to be 4ohm, and have a min power handling of 300watt. Could anyone point me in the right direction?

Cheers,

2. rok51

rok51

Sep 2, 2002
    Crawfordville, FL
    Just as I was ready to stick my foot in my mouth and proclaim that the 210TVX was an 8 ohm cab...so go with the 115 in a 4 ohm...I thought to check the specs...OOPS!!
    The 210TVX is 4 ohms! I think that it would match perfectly with the Combo 115 and I would definitely prefer the 210/115 combination as opposed to a second 115.

Kim

3. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    I'd also go the 15 with a 2x10. But are you sure you want it to be 4 ohms? By my calcs that would take the overall nominal impedance into places where most amps can't go.

4. goran

goran

Dec 17, 2002
    Croatia
    Endorsing Artist: Bartolini
    According to Peavey website, Peavey Combo will deliver 300W at 2 ohms. How about that? I haven't seen many combos that go that low eith impedance.