1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey Cirrus 4 - Need maintenance advice

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by gil_mor, Sep 11, 2008.

1. gil_mor

gil_mor

Apr 24, 2006
    Sedona, Az
    So yea, I just got my USA Peavey Cirrus Walnut and I'm excited!

I've been playing for quite a few years now, but this is my first "Real" guitar.

Couple of questions:
    1. How do I clean it? - Is it polyester/urethane or oil-urethane finish? What would be the right way to clean it?

2. Setup question -
    The setup is near perfect, but, I would like to lower the action a little. The neck has a slight bow, and the G string saddle is down all the way. I'm a soft player and I would like to lower it even more.

I've never played a neck-through-body before, and I don't want to harm it, is there anything else I should think of before I start strighting the neck?

Any other suggestions about taking care of my beauty will be appreciated.
    Thanks!

2. gil_mor

gil_mor

Apr 24, 2006
    Sedona, Az
    Anybody?

3. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    Depends on what finish it is. Is it shinny and really smooth? If so, its a lacquer of some sort (I have no idea if its poly or nitro...I'd guess poly). In that case, clean it like you would any other bass with that type of finish.

If its rough, its an oiled finish. If you really think it needs cleaning, go over it with 000 steel wool or one of those green scrub pad thigys...but it probably isn't that bad. Other than that, just put a little wax on it every now and then and you're good to go.
    I'm assuming the bow is forward?