1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey Cirrus NECK shape ? Tear drop ?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by mb94952, Jun 13, 2012.

1. mb94952

mb94952 Endorsing Artist : SFARZO STRINGS Supporting Member

Help !!!
    Newbie here - I don't know anything about building, just playing.

I LOVE the feel of the neck on my Peavey Cirrus collection. I took my Cirrus to Michael Dolan / Bob Groat's shop here in Santa Rosa, CA and even they were super impressed by the neck. They said the shape had a name, but I don't remeber what they called it !

The reason I am asking, is that I am going to get a Garz Custom made for me and I want a Cirrus shape neck. It is ergonomically designed to fit right into the pocket of your hand. There is zero hand fatigue. It is the complete opposite of a Fender neck, which after 15 mins of playing, I feel like I need hand surgery.

I am emailing Rich Lasner now to see if he remembers what it's called, but if anyone can help me in the meantime , that's awesome.

2. azfryguy

azfryguy

Feb 2, 2010
    Queen Creek AZ
    I usually refer neck shapes to letters. From what I remember about my old Peavey it had more of an capital I shape. I remember the back was sanded with almost a sand block it was so flat. It was a sixer though.

3. pilotjones

pilotjones

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
    Buy a contour gauge, use it to get the shape at a few points along the neck, and trace them onto paper to send to the luthier.

Also be aware that the neck will feel different if it ends up sitting at a different position with respect to your body caused by a different body shape and strap lugs. The same profile, with your hand and wrist at the necessarily different angle, would feel different.

4. mb94952