Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Peavey Cirrus wood choices...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by misterk73, Sep 26, 2002.

1. misterk73

misterk73

Apr 11, 2002
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Although I'm just a poor student right now, I'm hungering for a 35-inch scale 6-string bass these days (I recenbtly acquired a five-string and have fallen in love with the possibilities of a bass with more than four strings).

With all the talk about the Peavey Cirrus around here, I feel obliged to check one out. I played one used, unplugged, at a local Guitar Center once for about 10 minutes. I like what I felt, but that's the extent of my experience with them.

So, the question: Can anyone describe the tonal qualities of the various wood combinations the Cirrus comes in?

2. misterk73

misterk73

Apr 11, 2002
    Flagstaff, AZ
    That helps a bit, thanks. It sounds as if the now-MIA "cirrus woods page" is what I'm really after. Anyone know if there's a mirror or copy somewhere online?

If anyone has anything else to offer up on the topic of Cirrus woods and their characteristic tone, I'd love to hear it.

3. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    Check out the tone of the walnut/bubinga on my bass page. Song with Maurice Fitzgerald on the bass.

http://home.tampabay.rr.com/rrrrrrrr/hammond.wma

The wenge/walnut and bubinga/walnut seem to sound similar, with the tops adding little. The biggest differences compared to the walnut woods would come from redwood or maple bodies. The maple Cirrus basses I have tried are brighter sounding. The walnut basses area darker and richer sounding.

4. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden