peavey DPC 1400X

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Scutterflux, Apr 16, 2003.

1. So what's the low down on the DPC 1400X, I've tried it and like it. I thought it was clear and accurate, but I've read allot of posts saying peavey amps are not as clear and accurate as Stewart, QSC, etc... Even the local peavey dealer was telling me peavey power amps aren't really that good sounding.

How does it compare to other brand names?
    How does it compare to the new peavey GPS series?
    How does it compare to the new peavey CS800S?

I'm power hungry:bassist: !!!
  2. Over the years I've had a lot of experience with PV CS800, CS400, and Deca power amps. To my ears, they never sounded as clean or had the punch of the Crown or QSC amps. But, we're talking PA and not bass. If you're looking for a single rack power amp with a built in fan and 1400 watts, the DCP 1400 is your only choice. It will more than do the job in a bass rig and probably never give you a minutes trouble. And, if it does, PV has great service.
  3. Mike

Sep 7, 2000
    Bass player gave it a great review. I can't remember the issue, but, it might be on the BP site. I'm sure it's a great amp. Unfortunately, everything Peavey carries with it the "Peavey" stigma. I've found, however, that they're great stuff is great and the mid range stuff is, well, midrange; exactly what it was designed to be.
  4. Mario Lewis

Mario Lewis

Jul 6, 2001
    Clinton, MD
    I recently sold a QSC 3002 because I didn't need all the power it put out. Found a DPC at a store for the same price that I knew I could sell the QSC for and actually made out $150 extra. No loss in tone! Was able to go from a 6 space rack to a 4 space and still have 1000 W to my 8 ohm cab or 1400 W to the pair of 8 ohm Epi 112's. That's A Plenty!