1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Peavey FireBass 700

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by master5string, Jan 17, 2012.

1. master5string

master5string

Jan 17, 2012
    Hi all. ive had a peavey fire bass 700 and ive been using a 4x10 8ohm ashdown cab for about 6 years now and im realy still not getting the sound i want out of it so i have a few questions.

1. is it better to use 4ohm cabs for sound qaulity or 8ohm
    2. should i also use a 15" or 18" sub as well as the 4x10
    3. what is a good mixture of cabnets to use on these and ohm wise.

as you can tell im not much of a amp person more of a bass guitar person myself. thanks for any help you can offer.

2. The quality of the sound will not change from using either an 8 or 4 ohm cab. I believe the Firebass amps can run down to 2 ohms, so you can technically power three 8 ohm cabs, or two 4 ohm cabs, but you may want to check your owners manual to verify before trying.

I would suggest getting a matching 4X10 instead of a 15 or an 18 as those cabs won't be able to handle as much power as the 410 and will crap out way before the 410 will. If you do a search on mixing speaker sizes you'll find tons of useful information on the subject.

3. Mr. Foxen

Mr. Foxen Commercial User

Jul 24, 2009
    Bristol, UK
    Amp tinkerer at Ampstack
    The Firebass has a built in crossover, so if you want to do the mixed cab thing, you can run an 18" sub from the low out and a guitar combo for the mids and highs, it should sound pretty awesome.

4. master5string

master5string

Jan 17, 2012