1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Peavey Fury Vs. Squier VM P Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Scott Sauna, Mar 28, 2013.

1. Scott Sauna

Scott Sauna

Oct 12, 2012
    Oregon
    I have not played either bass and I am wondering how the talkbass community feels about one bass over the other. How is the neck on the peavey compared to the squier? How are the pickups different? That sort of thing! Thanks!

2. mark beem

mark beem I'm alive and well. Where am I? Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    Alabama, USA
    The neck on the Furys are thinner, more jazz-like. I'm assuming the Squier is going to be more like a tradition P-bass (I've no hands-on experience with that specific model).

3. Waldo19

Waldo19

Jul 9, 2011
    Well, it depends on which Fury. The early USA ones had a "super ferrite" pickup while the later ones had a more classic split-coil P-bass pickup.

Bang for your buck a USA peavey fury is hard to beat IMHO if you're looking for a pbass with a thinner neck.

Gigged with mine last night :)

4. smcd

smcd

Jun 28, 2009
    Boston, MA

Don't forget the more recent Fury IV, which has 2 soapbar pickups, is Asian made, and is similar to a Millennium.

+1 on a US Fury being hard to beat.

5. BrianToska

BrianToska

Jan 14, 2013
    Houston, TX
    I have a USA Peavey Fury with the split pickup. It has a thinner neck very similar to a jazz neck. It sounds just as good as a squier VM P-bass in my opinion.

6. Grebnaws

Grebnaws

Aug 25, 2010
    Champaign IL