1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey Mark VIII

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Lazarus.Bird, Oct 23, 2010.

1. Lazarus.Bird

Lazarus.Bird Mr. Personality

Aug 16, 2010
    Pittsburgh
    Anyone a fan of these? Couldn't find too much online but what I found seemed pretty solid. Just picked one up in pretty good shape for $100 at some weird store. Sounded pretty damn good! Figured it would make a nice backup rig but after I get a chance to mess around with it might end up gigging with it.

Bassdirty and fudgemaster like this.
  2. Lazarus.Bird

Aug 16, 2010
    Pittsburgh
    No one? ;)

3. Bassdude404

Bassdude404

Oct 23, 2010
    I've got a Mark III that I've been using for about 20 years...Great amp and my main rig...My only gripe is it's only 150 watts...Was looking for a Mark VIII last spring, but I got wrapped up in repainting my motorcycle and blew that off...$100 is a steal for that head....

4. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned

Nov 5, 2005
    Sounds like you got a great deal - one of those amps is worth atleast $200-$250, every day of the week... Although I play mostly Mesa and G-K amps these days, I've owned plenty of Peavey amps: the Mark III, IV, VI, VIII, FB700, and a couple of T-Max's, as well as a couple of Combo 300s - and they all were good amps, that never let me down at a gig... Out of the bunch, I preferred the voicing of the VI's and th T-Max's, but I used a VIII as my main gigging amp for about a year, and it worked very well... AFAIK, the guy I sold it to is still using it - Peavy amps are definitely workhorses...

Enjoy your new amp, dude - you got a great deal on it...

- georgestrings

fudgemaster likes this.
  5. ez-rhino

ez-rhino

Sep 8, 2010
    Dallas, TX
    Bass and Drum Mercenary