Peavey Microbass input jack repair - please help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sessionz, Jul 14, 2020.

1. Sessionz

Sessionz

Jul 14, 2020
    Hi,

I bought my first bass and amp last week, all on a low budget.

When i went to test the amp (Peavey Microbass) I noticed the front washer and nut were missing. When inserting the cable in I realised that the part inside the amp's jack input that holds the cable in place is broken or missing. The amp is playable, but the cable would come out if pulled. The seller offered me £10 off, i figured I could find the part and replace it. Except I can't.

I've looked everywhere for the right kind of input jack to replace it but can't find one that matches, or the right info.

Bear with me, I'm new to all this, this was the first amp i took apart!
    I've added some pictures of what it looks like, including the soldered points underneath to try and show the pin configuration.

IMG_20200713_154340.jpg
    IMG_20200713_154411.jpg
    IMG_20200713_154419.jpg
    IMG_20200713_154454.jpg
    IMG_20200713_154506.jpg
    IMG_20200713_154726.jpg

The closest i found was a 4-pin fender input jack, but on closer inspection the pins aren't in the right configuration. I've added a picture.

fender.jpg

Any help would be appreciated, I'm struggling to find what I need.

Edit: it's a Peavey Microbass II.

Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
  2. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa Boogie, Development Engineer-Genzler (pedals), Product Support-Genz Benz
    Uts a fairly unique part, contact a Peavey authorized service depot.

If you don't have (real) experience soldering, I suggest that you get some help. The lands are oversized and difficult to work with, thus easily damaged.

RSBBass and BassmanPaul like this.
  3. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather