Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Peavey Millenium 5 BXP vs. Brice HXB-405 Bubinga?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MetalWarrior, Oct 2, 2004.

1. Peavey Millenium 5 BXP

8 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. Brice HXB-405 Bubinga

5 vote(s)
    38.5%
  1. MetalWarrior

MetalWarrior

Oct 2, 2004
    Boston, MA
    Sales:Guitar Center
    i'm a guitarist who's interested in getting a cheap 5-string to learn, screw around, and do some recording with (through the bass amp models on a Johnson J-Station or through a PreSonus TubePre), on a poor college student budget.

i've heard good and bad about both of these, but a lot of the people i've talked to aren't familar with Brice at all. basically, i just want something that will play well, sound decent, and look good, for under $300. the Peavey is $240 new at a local store, altho i found the same model online, new, for $200, and the Brice is $260.

if it makes a difference, the Peavey is made in Indonesia, while the Brice is made in Korea.

so which of these is the better instrument for the money?

http://rondomusic.bigstep.com/item.jhtml?UCIDs=850849|940496&PRID=1372947
    http://peavey.com/products/shop_onl.../wc/1A1A2523/fam/1A35A/tcode/3/millennium.cfm

thanx.

2. Anti_Wish

Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma
    Brice = Gay
    Peavey = less gay

3. MetalWarrior

MetalWarrior

Oct 2, 2004
    Boston, MA
    2 problems with this response:

1. that tells me absolutely nothing
    2. "gay" when used in the pejorative sense = not cool

4. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    :scowl:

Delete the post man.. Not cool..

5. Dincrest

Dincrest

Sep 27, 2004
    New Jersey