Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

peavey session bass & 210tfx

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Newman, Dec 7, 2000.

1. Newman

Newman

Jun 6, 2000
    ok im still looking for amps for christmas(its getting to close) and i found a used sessionbass head and 210TFX. I got a couple of questions. First of all, im still very new at this stuff.
    1. what is the difference between an pre-amp and a head? the pre amp doesnt have wattage? so does that mean the pre amp has to go to another power source THEN a cab?

2. the sessionbass is 200 watts and the 210tfx is 350? can someone explain this. is 200 watts the most that will come out of this? just explain this as much as possible please

3. the sessionbass is a 2 space rackmount head. what does that mean? the head is not a perfect rectangle it has little things sticking off the side of the front. i think that is if u r going to install it into an amp or somethin i donno. again all the imformation you can give please.

4. i wont be using the sessionbass and speaker for any giant stadiums and i think it is far more then enough for a school stadium and a little underpowered for a hockey arena size stadium. I'm also quite young and im either going for something BIG (the 210 and seperate head) or some small combo... 12 inch speaker 75 watts about. Either one i buy i will want to not have to buy something new till im 18 or so. If i buy the 75er then i guess i will use a p.a. system or someone elses amp in any big situations. I have a 10 watt right now so that wil be my practice amp. Any comments?

5. For a head and cab the only thing else i will need is 2 cables and a bass right?