1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Peavey Vypyr VIP 1

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by M13, Nov 3, 2013.

1. M13

M13

Nov 1, 2013
    Earthlings:

Has anyone used/does anyone own the Peavey Vypyr VIP 1 or 2 electric/bass/acoustic amp?

This will *never* be used at a gig (I'm a drummer), so it'll only need to sound good in my living room.

It'll save me the cost of buying one amp for the strat and one for the bass, not to mention an effects pedal or two.

I haven't purchased an amp in ages, but I hopefully assume Peavey is still a trusted brand for most people.

Thanks in advance . . .

2. It works great for bass or guitar, but mine just started having a sympathetic buzzing when I play F#.
    I've had it about two years, and only just started having this problem. I put it on an acoustic dampening mat, but the problem persisted.

3. See if anyone in the Peavey forum can help you www.Peavey.com/forum

Killed_by_Death likes this.
  4. I meant to tear it apart this weekend, but w/o an objective in mind, I left it alone.
    Thanks for that link. Not sure why I didn't think of it. :cool:

5. I've gotten great advice from the folks over there. You can also call Peavey tech support direct, if it's a common issue, they can tell you what needs to be done to fix it.

For my guitar, I got a couple of older Transformer 112 amps. I exchanged posts with the amp designer on several occasions to work through a bunch of really cool features on the amp as well as a repair that required sending the head back to the factory for repair.

Peavey is very reasonable about pricing for factory parts and repairs.

6. Oh damn, now I'm wishing I had bought a Peavey micro-head instead of the Hughes & Kettner.

7. Here's a related thread:

Vypyr VIP 2 rattling - Peavey Forum