1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Peavy TNT 115 combo. Any comments appreciated

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Dirtyclinic, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Dirtyclinic

Dirtyclinic

Nov 15, 2011
    I am borrowing this amp right now and it sounds great to me but I am a complete beginner at the bass guitar. I don't have any other amp to compare it to. I can buy the amp for $170. Is that pretty good? I someday would like to do small gigs for 100 people or so, I assume this would have the power for that. Any comments about the amp are helpful. Thanks.

2. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    I'd offer $150 just because, it is worth the extra $20 though. Solid, reliable performer....heavy. Tone is useable, sounds better in a band mix than by itself. Loud enough to hang with a drummer, play a small bar.

If you want loud enough, reliable and cheap, TNT is the way to go. Tell him to knock off the $20 so you can buy some wheels to screw on the bottom, you'll get sick of carrying it all the time.

3. craig.p

craig.p

Sep 28, 2008
    New Hampshire
    I'm not sure how many power variations there have been with this model over the years, but I've heard a few TNTs that could run way louder and cleaner than any 1x15 combo has a right to. Every one of those had a Black Widow driver, by the way.

4. BackstagePlus

BackstagePlus

Jan 20, 2012
    In My House
    Well if it's built anything like my peavey basic 112, it is a rock, mine took a couple trips down cement stairs twice, and it still works like the day l got it.

5. Green Lantern

Green Lantern

Nov 3, 2011
    PA
    Don't like the amp. No tweeter, and a bit boomy. It was the church bass amp i used for years before they bought a Boogie Buster.

6. ack

ack Why Can't We All Get Along?

Nov 19, 2006
    Somewhere near Raleigh