Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pedal to mimic "slapping"?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bobcruz, Aug 21, 2004.

1. bobcruz

bobcruz

Mar 10, 2004
    Alameda, CA
    Hi everyone, I'm an amateur teaching myself various styles and if there's a pedal that mimics the sound of slapping, it could help me get by until I get proficient at the real thing. Any recommendations? Thanks!

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    nope, no such thing
    i would like to see a pedal that made chronic slappers sound like they were playing fingerstyle for once in their lives :D

3. well, you can get a midi setup, for about 1300 dollars for the pickup, the conversion box, and the sound bank...

i think it'd be easier (and cheaper!) to learn the technique

Charlie

4. plumby1

plumby1

Aug 21, 2004
    theres an effect on the digitech bp200 called "slappin" its ok but nothing compared to the real sound

5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Why do people seem to think there's a pill or gadget to get things done? :confused:

6. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    The Roland GR-20's $600, and has some (admittedly awful) slap bass patches. You'll have to wait for a while until the firmware upgrade for the bass pickup is available.

I'd suggest refraining from using the technique (or the sound) in a live or performance situation until you *absolutely* have to use it. Bass players have a tendency to want to use it all the time - honestly, 99% of the time, it doesn't sound that good.

7. ga_edwards

ga_edwards

Sep 8, 2000
    UK, Essex
    you haven' t seen these then I take it. Check the bass fx link

http://www.angelfire.com/yt3/redtele/