1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pedal volume help

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Richard Mac, Aug 7, 2018.

1. Richard Mac

Richard Mac

Jun 16, 2018
    Hi,

I’m fairly new to running a pedal board, I have mainly always played clean until recently.

My question is this:

Say I’m sounchecking, and each of my pedals is audibly similar in volume to my clean tone so everything sounds great. Then the sound guy asks me to lower the volume on my amp....if I turn my amp master volume down does that lower everything in relation to each other including my pedal board without needing to re check all my pedal volumes or would I still need to go back and readjust each pedal individually to match the new amp volume????

This is prob a really silly question but I’m just sat here wondering, recently I watched a show back that Someone filmed and I noticed that when I hit a certain pedal it lowered in volume massively so either I hadn’t checked the pedal levels properly pre gig or adjusting my amp master volume had affected the pedal. I want to avoid making the same mistake again.

Any answers on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks

2. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    The answer depends upon how the audio tech is getting your signal and why he is asking you to lower the volume of your amp. Usually a request to lower the volume of your amp means your blowing out the room so the audio tech cannot mix any of the bass into the subs or main speakers. However if he is getting your signal by mic'ing your speaker, running a speaker level DI, or running a post DI he may be requesting you to reduce signal level he is getting at the board.