1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pedalboard for looping

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by kesslari, Oct 1, 2008.

1. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Big Dogs Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    I'm starting to do looping performances, and I'm an utter beginner (as I've made clear) at pedals - I've been a bass->cord->amp (or non-electric percussion) guy most of my life.

But this looping and playing with electronic sounds is fun

So I'm going to organize my electronic exploration pod.

The current gear (counting stuff that's in the mail).
    listed in probable signal chain order

Loop bypass
    DoD FX25 Envelope Filter
    (potentially - modded Boss CS3 compressor - don't have this yet)
    Boss CE2 chorus
    Line6 DL4 (looper/delay)

I'll leave space for the compressor, and potentially for an overdrive/distortion. Also potentially for a dedicated delay - maybe even another DL4.

Suggestions/comments? Other than "you gotta add a <insert expensive boutique pedal here>"... No Blueberries for me in the immediate future.

I'll post pictures as I put it together.

Wish me luck, all you effected denizens!

2. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

Sep 10, 2008
    Pomona, SoCal
    I like to use the Boss RC-2 for live looping. It only has 11 spots to save presets, but so far I havent really saved them. I like to do my looping on the fly, and with up to 16 minutes of memory I have plenty of room to loop anything from long progressions to just itty bitty blips and pops, or what have you.

Most importantly, have fun.

Something I'm currently trying to do is perform at art showings (especially somethine abstract or surreal) and play some awesome ambient music throughout the night.