1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

pedalboard powering question????

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by eyeballkid, Apr 10, 2010.

1. eyeballkid

eyeballkid Supporting Member

Jul 19, 2009
    alright guys, got a problem i dont know how to most efficiently address... Ive always had a few (or more than a few) effects, but now Im getting ready to put together a pedal board for efficiency's sake.

My question is this: I have a number of 9v pedals, and a few 18volt pedals such as the EHX bass micro synth, and the EHX Cathedral reverb. Is there any power solution that will work for both? Or do i need to put a power strip under the board to plug in a power supply that will feed the 9 volt pedals and then just plug the 18volt pedals directly into the power strip?

im a bit of a noob to this aspect.

thanks in advance folks!!

2. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph !! Supporting Member

The DC Brick (Dunlop) offers 7 9-v inputs + 3 18-v inputs, so that might be what you're looking for.

What I'm not sure about, is what happens if you use one of the 18-v inputs to connect a 9-v pedal. Probably not good, so haven't tried it.

3. eyeballkid

Jul 19, 2009
    ok..
    any other options guys?
    what about some of the EHX pedals that say "only use this dedicated adaptor"?
    for example the one adaptor is 9.6volts... any problems there?
    or anything else i should know?

4. Don't listen to EHX when they say that. Any adapter within proper electrical specs will work fine.

The BBE SupaCharger and Voodoo Labs PedalPower2 Plus are great board supplies. They have isolated outputs and can power a variety of voltages. Both can do 9, 12, 18, 24 volts and they each have another mode that is different from each other.