1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Pedals in studio

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by thorplaysbass, Dec 6, 2011.

1. I'm going to a studio soon and wanted to bring a chorus pedal I just got. I've recorded before, but I've never used pedals before now. I don't know much about recording so I was curious to whether or not it would bother the engineer if I was to use a pedal. Thanks

(basically, will it piss off the engineer in a studio if a bass player brings a pedal..I'm asking just to be cautious and polite)

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Leave it at home.

Once it's on a track you can't take it off, so a general rule is always record clean and then add effects.

3. Chef FourString

Chef FourString

Feb 4, 2011
    Texas
    +1 You can always route the pedal in the mix later.

4. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    Yep.

5. jungleheat

jungleheat Banned

Jun 19, 2011
    DC
    How is it going to get on the track at all if it never sees the inside of a studio? Just take it.

I know people with very little faith in their own creative instincts will tell you "you can always put it on later", which is true to an extent, but a lot of times a certain sound can affect the performance and really help things come together. If you were a guitarist trying to play a Gilmour style solo and all you had was the guitar plugged straight into the board, it would be nearly impossible to get into that headspace and perform the solo with the right feel.