Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pedulla Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Krinkle5, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Krinkle5

Krinkle5

Feb 16, 2006
    I saw a Pedulla Bass at a local guitar center I believe it is the rapture RB5, also they had a pentabuzz but I liked the rapture better, it is the first time I play a pedulla bass. the price tag on the rapture was 2000 dollars, are they really worth all that money? I know they are hand made here in the US but i dont know much about them. I can may be get a better deal than that. please let me know what you guys think about these basses. :help:

2. rockdoc11

rockdoc11

Sep 2, 2000
    I've been playing Pedulla (an MVP) exclusively for over 10 years now. Of course, everyone has unique tastes, and what I like may be different from you.

But over the last 30 years I've tried nearly everything (Fender, G&L, Gibson, Music Man/Ernie Ball, Yamaha, Alembic, Ibanez, Ric) and nothing has felt as sweet or as perfect as my Pedulla.

It cost a little money. How much is absolute musical contentment worth?

I've never looked back.

3. I bought & returned a Rapture(just didn't 'fit' me)& later, a Thunderbass ET 5(same reason). Quality, finish, etc. were very nice; worth it if it floats your boat. I recently played a Pentabuzz(Jeff Schmidt's righty-strung lefty); as awkward as that was, the thing absolutely played itself. VERY nice- wish I could justify having a Penta- or Hexabuzz in my quiver...

4. IMO, whether or not the Rapture is worth the money is up to you.

I've had a Rapture 5 (single pickup) since 1997, and it is my main bass. Overall, IMO, it is a good sounding, easy playing instrument, with an excellent low B for 34" scale. In a way, I liken it to sort of a more refined version of a Stingray 5.

Have you tried both the single pickup and J2 models?

5. GSRLessard14

GSRLessard14 All-Things-Claypool Enthusiast