People in FL are calling to say their internet is down

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by fr0me0, Oct 29, 2005.

1. fr0me0

Dec 7, 2004
    Winnipeg Canada
    I'm a student but I do tech support on the side for Comcast ISP. today my first 4 calls have been form people in FL saying there internet is down. They seem kind of suprised that it would be hurricane related. One person accused me of being to lazy to do my job and just blaming it on that cause I didn't want to help them. Am I the only person that wouldn't be suprised if my internet service was intterupted by a hurricane?
  2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Are they without cable TV too? If they have cable TV restored it would make sense the servers on your end would be online waiting for them to get connectivity.

Canadian Comcast call center huh? I've delt with a few of your Customer Service / Script readers... :rolleyes:

I hope I haven't been too hard on you personally... but I make my living as a tech myself (T1, T3, DS3 stuuf these days), I've had some flat out ridiculous requests from Comcast when trying to troubleshoot my first & second fried modem and my failed HBO trap at the pole.

BTW: I don't watch TV, haven't in a decade yet I get charged for basic cable over top of my internet fee... when the HBO trap failed, I was given a 3 week ETA on repair. I have a friend that works sales at the local office, on his request I plugged my modem line into my TV and had all snow. I then called to say I had all snow on my beloved TV and they had a tech to me the next day to fix it :rollno:
  3. fr0me0

Dec 7, 2004
    Winnipeg Canada
    actually its really common to have tv service and no internet. I'd say about 90% of the calls the internet is down and TV is working fine. UNless you have digital cable the signal could be way out and basic TV will work fine.

Comcasts is a pretty assinie company though i'll give you that.
  4. James Hart

James Hart