Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

People with semi-hollowbody basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by FlatNate, Mar 19, 2001.

1. Hey, this is my first time posting here, and this looks like a really good forum. I just acquired a 1974 Gibson Les Paul Signature bass, and I must admitt I am in love with the thing. The tone is incredible. I was wondering if anyone around here has had experience with the Gibson or even the Epiphone Jack Cassady model, or other hollowbody basses? What strings work well on them (how would flatwounds sound on the thing)? A second question would be if anyone knows where I could get a different case for it, perhaps an Epiphone case for the Jack Cassady model? The case that it came in isn't original and weigh's about two tons. Any other experiences with the thing would be really fun to read.
    Thanks,
    -Nate

2. hey nate,

can't really answer your questions, but Welcome to talkbass!

3. notduane

notduane

Nov 24, 2000
    Welcome Nate :) . You'll probably be hearin' from Michael Jewels, among others.
    M/J's got a Epi Casady and is pretty fond of it. Me too! (got a vintage sunburst) :) .
    flats sound great on `em (IMO). Although I think Jack himself uses Blue Steels.
    I've tried GHS Precision Flats (3050) & Thomastik-Infeld Jazz Flats (JF344).
    Both were good. The T/I's had a little better feel. Now I've got Rotosound
    RS88-LD tapewounds on it. Kind of a weird, woody "snarl" :D .
    I think Michael J. is sold on Rotosound RS77 Jazz Bass (flats).
    I contacted Musician's Friend a while back about a Casady case.
    At the time, I believe they quoted $85 for a HSC.
    I get a REAL sweet, articulate tone through my Ampeg B-15R.
    Set the pre to ~7, the post to ~4 (li'l compression), and
    the Varitone on the bass to 3 ("max snarl")...who let the WOLVES out? :p

4. Hey Nate,