Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Perhaps a silly question. 34" scale upright?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by rammsteinswrath, Apr 27, 2005.

1. rammsteinswrath

rammsteinswrath

Apr 26, 2005
    I am a bass guitarist really, but I am interested in starting to play uprights. It would be nice to have a fully acoustic instrument. Most acoustic bass guitars just don't have that kind of volume, and nothing sounds quite like an upright. I am comfortable with fretless bass, but the drastic scale change would take a while to get used to.

Can you get a moderately priced 34" scale upright? Does someone routinely make these? :meh:

2. Mudfuzz

Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    WA...
    Well, they do exist and are called a 1/4, but they are considered a child's bass. I don't have opinion about them really, and I have never played one. The only time I ever have seen one played that looked small enough was on that folk special on PBS that A Mighty Wind was made to poke fun at; I wasn't all that impressed with the player, but the sound did the job.

e-bay always has a few cheap'n'crappy ones up and there is also the
    Engelhardt EM3 Maestro Junior Bass , I think there are a few more makes, but I can't remember.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    The issue is that even a 3/4 scale bass, which is viewed as the "standard" and has a string length around 41" (+/- a bit), doesn't have a big enough airspace to fully and flatly replicate the frequencies that you are looking for. Sure, there are some cannon 3/4 basses out there, but many of your super loud orchestra basses are even bigger than 3/4.