1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Perhaps Another Attempt At 5 String, But...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jo6Pak, Aug 2, 2007.

1. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    This time I want to try adding a high C rather than the typical low B. Does anybody here do that? Any advice? THANKS!

2. lfh

lfh

Dec 18, 2003
    Stockholm, Sweden
    FWIW: I've been playing such a setup since 1990 and never looked back. Rotosound Swing Bass of gauges 30/40/60/80/100 works perfect for me.

3. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    Kewl. I'm thinking D'A Chromes (45-100) with purchase of an individual .032 for the C. I would ordinarily go for the 40-95 set if it were 4 sring, but the 45 will give me a bit more room between the 32, ya think?

What do ya/don't ya like most about the EADGC tuning? I tried a couple 5ers with the B a few years ago, but never warmed up to it. Thought it would be more natural for me to climb UP, if I tried it again. Thanks for the response, I'm really interested in hearing more about this...

4. MEKer

MEKer Supporting member

May 30, 2006
    So who is making the bass with the hi C as 5th? Or did you just get a special nut and bridge to accomodate it on a standard 5'er???

5. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    Good point. I have been assuming (yeh, I know what happens when ya do that) most nuts would accomodate one string size smaller than designed with little/no playing issues. Do you know otherwise? If so, my curiousity with it stops here. Not really worried about the bridge...

6. lfh

lfh

Dec 18, 2003
    Stockholm, Sweden