Permanets as a pizz string: The Details?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Tommy el Gato, Mar 2, 2010.

1. Tommy el Gato

Tommy el Gato

Jul 6, 2007
    I know this is talked about a lot here at TB (I've read some of the posts), but I kind of wanted a little bit more detail on the topic.

Right now I'm a jazz student who's trying to do a lot of arco stuff and I'm pretty much just using a school-owned bass strung up with D'addario hybrids. I do planning on getting a bass of my own soon, but haven't gotten much experience with other strings, so I'm definitely going through a string debate.

Since I do struggle with arco (the main reason why I practice it a good bit.), I'm really tempted to try and get a string that's more suited to arco, but will sound to my taste pizz. I'd really like to have a spiro-ish pizz sound, except maybe a little bit more mellow. You know, the sustainy, growling, fairly bright type of sound. The hybrids sort of do that, but it takes a pretty high action do so with.

Think I could pull that off with Pirastro Permanents or is there a better string for me? Like a Flat-Chromesteel perhaps? I'll probably have this conversation all over again with Nick Lloyd when I get around to making the bass purchase, but I wanted to see what TB'ers had to say.

Thanks for any advice
    -Tom

2. Hi Tommy