1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Phase issues... am I understanding this right?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JACink, Feb 2, 2018.

1. JACink

JACink

Mar 9, 2011
    Spain
    I am still new to the world of effects pedals, until recently I had been running only a Zoom B3 into a DAW, which means I had plenty of effects available and didn't have to worry about phasing issues, or blending issues etc.

I am putting together a pedal board at the moment and I mentioned the other day in another thread about splitting and blending dry signal with wet.

It was mentioned in that thread, along with many others that I have read, about possible phase issues when blending back dry signal.

Here is a quote from dannybuoy who gave me some good info to think about. I have extracted just the part about phase issues:

So, I understand the whole phase thing, and how certain pedals can invert the phase, but I wan't to confirm that I am actually understanding a few things correctly.

1. As said, if you have any odd number of pedals that inverts the phase, then your dry signal will need to have the phase reversed in order to not experience cancellation. However, the pedal only inverts the phase when it is on (if it is True Bypass), which means that if you switch the pedal on and off during a song, you would have an issue each time the pedal is on (or off, depending on the chain). In this case, a phase reverse switch would just reverse the issue. Do people use some kind of phase reversal pedal that they hit at the same time?

2. In order to reverse the phase, the signal would need to be balanced, reversed, and then unbalanced again. Correct? Is there a pedal that does this?