1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Phaser or Chorus first?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JesterJoker010, Nov 17, 2018.

1. JesterJoker010

JesterJoker010

Nov 4, 2018
    Now I know there are no rules, but I have no experience with using these two effects together, not even sure if I will eventually.
    Haven't got the pedals for it either yet, will be another couple of weeks, so can't try it out myself.
    Which would you put before the other and why?

2. Alien8

Alien8

Jan 29, 2014
    Which pedals?

If either is stereo, I tend to use those last because stereo is awesome.

If you want the chorus to be a pitch modulation type thing, then it goes first.

They bith have on / off switches, so you could just use that function to turn one off and the other on when you want to.

Sunset Shalom likes this.
  3. Bassist30

Bassist30 Supporting Member

Mar 19, 2004
    NEW YORK
    I have it as phaser first.... But there isn't a rule yet I have received more recommendations this way.

4. arbitrary

arbitrary Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2005
    Boston, MA
    Depends on how the pedals stack. I have chorus then phase, but with others I’ve reversed it.

5. keatz

keatz

Jan 19, 2011
    Well a chorus pretty much takes off where phaser leaves, so it's a similar thing to light od or heavy od first. Do you want to phase the chorus or chorus the phase? Most people would go phaser first but no right or wrong.

40Hz, Mvilmany and cheechi like this.
  6. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    IMHO they don't stack very well, so I wouldn't worry about it, but YMMV.

7. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    Phaser first.

Modulation before duplication IMO

Nev375 likes this.
  8. Sunset Shalom

Sunset Shalom

May 9, 2016