Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Phil Jones Bass - Suitcase purchase

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bassguy1, Feb 10, 2006.

1. Bassguy1

Bassguy1

Feb 10, 2006
    U.S. - Midwest
    I just picked up my new PJB Suitcase amp at Fazzio's Frets and Friends in Ballwin , MO last night. I bought the first one that was available. Waited 2 months for this to come in. Phil had it on display at the 2006 NAMM show in LA. This new amp is AWESOME. 300 watts, four 5" pirahna speakers, two channels, only weighs 50 pounds. This is the best sounding amp I have ever played through and I've been playing since 1967. This has a pure smooth tube sound with no annoying hissing and no annoying fan sound. This is a must buy for all you hardcore bass players. Way to go Phil!!!

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    It looks like a great amp but.
    And of course you love it - you bought it.
    "Tube sound" is subjective, and luckily this is an adjective you added and not Phil Jones.
    50lbs is heavy - I'd wait for the neodymium version.
    It doesn't generate 300W into it's built in speakers.
    Phil hasn't published a frequency chart, or max SPL levels yet.

3. Bassguy1

Bassguy1

Feb 10, 2006
    U.S. - Midwest
    Tone is definetly subjective. I played my '57 reissue fender precision with flatwounds through the suitcase and also through my Ampeg B15 R (all tube - 117 pounds) and the suitcase sounded much more mellow on the bottom end with stronger mids and highs. It is 200 watts to the internal speakers and 300 to external ones.
    A 4B (4 - 5" speakers) extension cabinet for this amp is coming out soon.

4. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Are you going to publish any frequency charts, or max spl charts?

5. Bassguy1

Bassguy1

Feb 10, 2006
    U.S. - Midwest