1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Phillips or Schatz?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by lowEndRick, Apr 22, 2006.

1. lowEndRick

lowEndRick Supporting Member

Apr 8, 2006
    CT
    I have been playing guitar for 30 years. Bass guitar on and off for 20. Dobro for about 2 years with lessons from a great teacher. I have gigged frequently in several different genres.

I have acquired an upright and am debating between the Schatz video and the Phillips video. I find that I learn really well from videos.

Any advice?

2. lowEndRick

Apr 8, 2006
    CT
    OK, I give up. What am I doing wrong? I've posted like 3 or 4 times with questions and have had no responses.

3. msw

msw

Aug 21, 2003
    Massachusetts
    Sorry, I don't have any knowledge of either.
    Ray Brown made a couple of really good ones. I think they are available somewhere, try Google-ing them. I have heard some good things about Phillips bass playing from Matt Glaser. Good luck.

4. relacey

relacey

Sep 18, 2004
    I was wondering the same thing. You can view a short excerpt from the Schatz video on the Homespun Tapes web site. My background is similar to yours and I was afraid these would be a little too elementary, along the lines of "Here's 1 - 3 - 5 in G, C, and D. Congratulations, you're a bass player." Both Phillips and Schatz have the playing credentials so maybe there's more there. But, I too would like to know before I shell out $50 for the 2-DVD set of either.

I do have Rufus Reid's DVD and book, "The Evolving Bassist" and I can recommend them highly. They compliment each other so I'd suggest both. The other book that I've found very useful as a beginner is "Intonation Plus" by Lew Berryman. All of this presumes that you can read notation.

5. wallydoesbass

wallydoesbass Gold Supporting Member