Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Phoenix, AZ- How's the Music Scene?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jpbass5, Feb 1, 2005.

1. jpbass5

jpbass5 Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2004
    Newport, Rhode Island
    The Powers That Be at my day job have proposed a great job opportunity that would mean relocating to the Phoenix area. I've lived in Rhode Island for ten years now and except for the snow, don't really want to move.

Musically I'm involved with a great band here and I'm concerned about moving someplace and having to start over finding a decent gig.

I probably should mention that I've been a full time pro bassist for over twenty years. I kinda fell into this day gig- but It's something I really like.

If anyone in Phoenix can share their views of the Scene there, it would be very helpful. By the way, how's the cost of living out there?

Thanks,

Jp

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Dunno about the scene, but The Bass Place will be your new hangout. Hope you got a good paying job. Oh yeah, they've got 3 GCs. Whoopee.

3. kegbarnacle

kegbarnacle

Nov 18, 2003
    Phoenix
    Phoenix isn't too bad. The Bass Place has to be one of the best bass stores on the entire planet. Lots of road trips to go on. Gambling to the north, large impressive hole in the ground to the north, Fiesta time south of the border, SoCal to the west, skiing in Flagstaff, all drivable. As for the music scene, it's basically divided in three. Andy West lives here, Ray Riendeau lives here.

The three: