Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Photography buffs.. help!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Tsal, Feb 27, 2003.

1. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Alright, attached you'll find a (de-sized) image I took this night at my friends gig - it came out pretty good subjectwise but quality is pretty poor, the whole pic is grainy. What did I do wrong?

It was my first attempt in photographing a live band with all the smoke and lights going on. I have owned digital camera (2Mpix Canon, one of the small "design" ones) for few weeks now so I'm not very experienced. I had the ISO setting on 400(the 'auto' function came out with motion blur), too large perhaps? I don't think this thing has shutter speed settings..

Another thing creeps into my mind: perhaps I should get some more expensive model with more user controls and better image quality? If this is the case, what would you recommend? My IXUS, as it's called in Europe, does pretty well with normal life pics though.

Also, if someone could suggest a good site with beginner tips, I'd appriciate it.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    thats not a bad shot.

I'm a photographer hobbiest. I do black and white photography mostly, I use a fully manual 35 mm camera, and I do all my own developing and post processing in the lab.

I'm not very experienced with digital cameras, but as long as you have a passion and interest, gear doesn't matter that much. ;)

3. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Not bad, you say? I took around 50 or so, so one or two of these are bound to look ok :p

Then again, perhaps my expectations are bit high as I'm comparing these to their previous gig pics taken with 35mm SLRs..

Have another!

4. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Third. I think this is one of the best of what I took. Umm.. is it possible to get GAS for camera equipment? :eek: