Physics on harmonics...

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Achilles LS, Apr 9, 2003.

1. What happens physically when you play a harmonic? I've wondered so much about this...

Don't be afraid to get way too technical/scientifical - that's what I want to know about! :D
  2. I'm no pro by any means, but I'm pretty sure it's similar to playing a regular note except it doesn't have one main note being articulated. The undertones are the main part. That's as much as I know. :)
  3. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Overtones, not undertones :)

I'm not sure of all the physics of it, but what happens is you're muting the actual fundamental (the open string, or whatever note you're fretting, with artificial harmonics) - and depending on where your finger is on the string, a different harmonic resonates.

At half way along the string (i.e. 12th fret), the 2nd harmonic (octave) resonates, at 1/3 and 2/3 of the way along the string, the 3rd harmonic (octave + 5th) resonates, at 1/4 and 3/4 (not 2/4, because 2/4=1/2) of the way along the string, the 4th harmonic (2 octaves) resonates, etc. etc.

To get the nth harmonic you have to touch the string at any of the following fractions of the string length:

1/n, 2/n, 3/n ... (1-n)/n

*Except* where any of those gives you a lower harmonic. For example, 4th harmonic would be 1/4, 2/4, 3/4 - but it's only 1/4 & 3/4 because 2/4 = 1/2, which gives you the 2nd harmonic. So, you get the lowest harmonic corresponding to that fraction of the string.
  4. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    A friend of mine read a book about physics in music... I should probably ask her.
  5. :eek:

You are a horrible person! :mad:

:p just kidding
  6. Jeff Moote

Jeff Moote Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2001
    Beamsville, ON, Canada
    Heh, we're studying this in physics right now... and I knew a bit to begin with.