Piano buzzing w/ bass

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by carbon64, May 26, 2020.

1. carbon64

carbon64

May 18, 2020
    Hello all,
    When I practice my bass the nearby piano will buzz with certain pitches. I reckon the sound is resonating with the piano strings. Any common solution to that?
    I am new to bass. My son plays the piano and he's decent so the piano stays :)
    Small house so cannot really practice elsewhere.
    Thanks for any tips. My first post.
    Cheers.
    PS I would ask the piano turner but that is always a 45 conversation :-l

12BitSlab and Reedt2000 like this.
  2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    Where is your amp positioned relative to the piano? I'm wondering if they are on the same wood floor, or if the amp points towards the piano. You could try picking the amp up if it's on the floor. I doubt piano strings are resonating much, they should be dampened unless you play or step on the pedal. I'd suspect the case of the piano.

3. carbon64

carbon64

May 18, 2020
    Indeed, the piano and amp share the wooden floor AND the amp/cab face the piano. I will try raising it with some foam and report back.

equill and Reedt2000 like this.
  4. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

0000_1.jpg

Reedt2000 likes this.
  5. carbon64

carbon64

May 18, 2020
    Hah, ok, its the cab that I will try and get some Styrofoam blocks under. Certainly not foam under the piano :)

equill and Reedt2000 like this.
  6. mikewalker

mikewalker

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!
    34bPVak.gif

AaronMB, equill and jamro217 like this.
  7. adje

adje

Feb 3, 2004